Posted by: mandyrd | September 9, 2009

Citrus salad with pomegranate dressing

Here’s a picture I meant to post on Monday:

Blog 077

E and I swam here on Monday for the evening triathlon swim.  About 40 people were there, mainly women training for a ladies’ triathlon.

As usual, E put on my wetsuit for me. I think he knew I wouldn’t make it into the water without his help. (He even dug the wetsuit out of our basement boxes.)

Two different buoys were set out to make a triangle formation. The distance was 500-600 meters per “lap.” Too bad I could barely finish the first lap. The wetsuit felt constrictive, and I could not breath. I mean, I expected some shortness of breath (a reaction to an innate fear of cold, murky water) but not that much. It’s definitely time for me to get back in the pool, as I haven’t trained in five months!

Anyway, this morning I had a quick breakfast of boiled eggs (one egg, three whites) and this mixture:

Blog 083

One sweet potato, one natural applesauce pack, a squeeze of honey, and a dash of pumpkin pie spice. It tasted delicious! Then I hurried to the club to help set up for a Post Spouse’s Club event.

Back at home, I ate leftovers for lunch:

Blog 082

Tomato sandwich with sun-dried tomato hummus and tahini and a citrus salad with homemade pomegranate dressing. If you haven’t tried making dressing, I highly recommend it. You can even experiment with your own recipes once you know the formula (oil/vinegar/seasonings + (sometimes) additional liquid).  My dressing only took 5 minutes to make.

Here is the recipe for Pomegranate Vinaigrette (from Yoga Journal magazine):

Mix the following ingredients in a airtight container and chill:

  • 1/4 c. olive oil
  • 1/4 c. red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 c. pomegranate juice
  • 2 tbsp finely chopped yellow onions (I omit them.)
  • 1 tsp orange zest
  • 1 tsp brown sugar or to taste
  • 1/4 tsp salt

The citrus salad should include toasted walnuts ( toast for 7-10 minutes at 250 degrees), greens, and mandarin oranges. Very fresh tasting!

After lunch I made raspberry bars using a recipe from cooks.com. I can’t believe none of my cookbooks had this recipe!

Blog 085

E and I are taking this simple gift to our neighbors, who had a baby a few days ago. We don’t really know them, but we’re a neighborhood full of newbies, so why not?

(For example, we probably won’t have a baby shower since we don’t anticipate making “real” friends here.)

Yes, I did sample a few!

More later…

Responses

  1. I keep thinking of getting back in the pool, too. A brand new FREE aquatic center opened less than a mile from our apartment and I have yet to check it out – they have an Olympic sized 50 meter pool! Anyway, those raspberry bars look delicious, but I hate jelly and jam – I wonder if I could use real fruit (mushed up raspberries, maybe with some sugar)? I’m impressed by all of your baking and cooking! I made meat loaf and mashed potatoes for dinner last night, YUM!!! Ross loved it. Anyway, I have always wanted to try my own salad dressings. I love pomegranate so I am definitely going to try this one! 🙂

  2. Your meals always look so fresh and delicious! I’m going to try the sweet potato fixins.

  3. Wow, Becky, the pool sounds great! I can’t believe it’s free. Our pool here has awful hours. It’s only available M-F from 5:30-7:30 or 12-1pm each day. I would love to go a little bit later in the morning.
    Yes, I think you could try mashed berries with a bit of sugar and flour/cornstarch. I was thinking the same thing myself. Jelly is so sweet.
    Mom, let me know what you think about the sweet potato! I’m looking forward to real pie in a few months.

  4. The pomegranate dressing sounds intriguing, must try it. I love the combination of citrus and pomegranate, it works really well. Your baby is going to be very well-fed, in fact it already is!
    http://lusciousvegetarian.wordpress.com/2010/12/22/citrus-zinger-salad-with-mint-and-pomegranate/


Leave a Reply

Categories

